Real Concerns for Christians Concerning Children

I came along this blog discussing David Benatar’s book, ‘Better Never to Have Been…

http://merecomments.typepad.com/merecomments/2007/03/dont_be_born.html

I’d like to highlight two comments…

 

“If one is born but not saved, then yes, it’s better not to have been born. I will have no children, as I cannot live with the idea that my child might suffer infinite pain for all eternity in God’s eternal torture chamber (and no word-twisting about how God doesn’t run Hell….it’s there because he lets it exist).

And if Calvinism is right, then it is doubly cruel and selfish to have children….chances are your progeny will have been created for the express purpose of feeling God’s wrath…you will probably birth, nurture, and raise a child whose sole and only purpose is to suffer indescribable torment for ever and ever and ever.”

Posted by: Dan | Mar 14, 2007 9:13:31 AM

and…

 

“Not an athiest, and not a troll, and I’m not “attacking this site” (is that what you think when people post things you disagree with?)…I’m just reacting to the question, which has bothered me all my life.

Is it better not to exist, or to exist in Hell? (And I don’t think anyone willfully chooses an eternity of agony….we do actions that will lead there based on our own shortsightedness and inability to do anything else)

If we are born broken and sinful, and will go to Hell unless saved, then why is it such a stretch to decide not to bring additional broken, sinful, Hell-bound people into the world? We can try to show our children the way, but we cannot force them to be saved. I’m saying that I personally cannot face the idea of raising and loving children only to see them in Hell. Which, it cannot be denied, is a very real possibility. (And while I’m undecided about Calvinism, that view seems to reinforce my feeling)

I think the ultimate selfishness would be to have kids for my own joy and benefit knowing that their fate might be worse than not having been born at all.”

Posted by: Dan | Mar 14, 2007 8:09:43 PM

 

Seems pretty logical to me. And anybody who says never existing is worse than spending an eternity being tortured in hell, just isn’t thinking very hard. But that’s exactly the argument some folks make. Check out the blog, read the thread, and tell me what you think!

2 Comments

  1. John Ohannesian
    Posted February 17, 2010 at 10:50 pm | Permalink

    Believing in a God who would send you to hell forever is so stupid as to be nearly insane. I am grateful I don’t believe in such a being.

    Not having children for this reason is about as strange as anything I have ever heard.

    • User
      Posted December 1, 2010 at 8:52 pm | Permalink

      John, so you don’t accept there is a God, fine. But there are people who do, and for these people, this is the perfect reason.
      For others: you’re born, you suffer, you die (most likely a painful death. Isn’t that is reason there?


Post a Comment

